SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 03: Shane Van Gisbergen driver of the #97 Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF reacts after finishing in 3rd place and winning the Drivers Championship during race 28 for the Sydney 500, which is part of the Supercars Championship at Sydney Olympic Park Street Circuit on December 3, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Shane van Gisbergen won his first race as the 2016 champion as he crossed the line after an action packed final race of the 2016 Supercar season, the final race at Homebush Olympic Park.

Garth Tander, who started the race from pole position, his first since 2012, crossed the line just a second behind the Kiwi driver to take second with David Reynolds holding back a very frustrated Jamie Whincup to give Erebus Motorsport their first podium finish in 18 months.

Whincup was trying desperately to get past Reynolds for several laps, but the Erebus driver defended brilliantly to keep the raging bull behind in fourth place.

Craig Lowndes had a very disappointing weekend and ended up losing third place in the championship to Scott McLaughlin in his final race for Garry Rogers Motorsports before moving across to Penske DJR for 2017.

Jamie Whincup ended up fourth ahead of Scott McLaughlin, James Courtney, Tim Slade, Will Davison, Craig Lowndes and James Moffat rounding out the top ten.