Dani Pedrosa surged through the field to win the San Marino and Rimini Riviera Grand Prix after starting eighth to become the eighth different MotoGP race winner for 2016.

He is also the eighth different winner in succession, extending a streak that stretches back to the Italian Grand Prix in May.

(Photo by Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images)
(Photo by Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images)

Valentino Rossi forcefully passed pole sitter Jorge Lorenzo in the early laps and had a comfortable lead until a fast-starting Pedrosa, jumping from eighth to fourth in the opening laps, overtook rivals Marc Marquez and Lorenzo in quick succession.

Pedrosa then reeled in and passed Rossi with seven laps to go and won with nearly a three-second margin for his first victory this season. Lorenzo finished third and MotoGP leader Marquez crossed fourth.