LAUNCESTON, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 09: The car of Rick Kelly drives the #15 Sengled Racing Nissan Altima during race 3 for the Tasmania SuperSprint, which is part of the Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains Raceway on April 8, 2017 in Launceston, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

It was carnage and mayhem at Symmons Plains this afternoon when on lap two of the scheduled first race of the weekend, a 13 car pile-up saw the suspension of the event.

In wet conditions the back half of the field found themselves in trouble with little visibility on the run down to turn four, resulting in the pile-up and red flag.

While safety cars worked to clear the debris, the clock ticked down on the time allocated for the event.

Will Davison, one of the last cars to join in the pile up, was transported to hospital, but is thankfully okay, while Rick Kelly, who was one of the first cars to kick off the carnage, was limping but not concerned with any real pain.

As officials argued with team owners, the remaining cars waited to see what would happen next.

Eventually it was decided to allow the cars to run two laps under safety car before the chequered flag was waved on Shane van Gisbergen’s Red Bull Racing Holden.

While van Gisbergen’s win stands, no points were awarded.

“Confederation of Motorsport (CAMS) Race Stewards, in consultation with Supercars Australia, have decided Championship points from today’s crash-shortened race at Symmons Plains in Tasmania will not be awarded,” read a statement after the race. “The 50-lap race ended under safety car with only one lap completed following the multi-car accident which happened on the second lap of the race."

"While no Championship points will be awarded, Shane van Gisbergen’s victory will be recorded as a race win, and the race results stand. CAMS Stewards determined: “In the exceptional circumstances existing in respect of Race 3 the Stewards, after consultation with Supercars, and in the exercise of their authority pursuant to Rule A10.1.4 have determined that no Championship Points, either Drivers or Teams, will be awarded for Race 3."