LAUNCESTON, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 09: Scott McLaughlin drives the #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Falcon FGX during qualifying for race 3 for the Tasmania SuperSprint, which is part of the Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains Raceway on April 8, 2017 in Launceston, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Unlike the weather in China, that had dried up enough for practice three to take place earlier today, the weather in Tasmania was not what the Supercar series had hoped for as rain came down at the Symmons Plains Raceway for the start of qualifying and by the time the 15 minute session was over, it was Scott McLaughlin’s DJR Team Penske at the top of the timesheets.

Shane van Gisbergen had shown early pace for Red Bull Holden Racing, however, while he was holding tight to a front row start alongside McLaughlin, the Supercheap Ford of Chaz Mostert snatched the position away and will start alongside his fellow Ford driver.

That meant that van Gisbergen will start from P3 alongside the Erebus entry of David Reynolds.

Jamie Whincup had a little more challenging session and will start from P5 alongside his former teammate, Team Vortex man Craig Lowndes.

Dale Wood, Todd Kelly, Jason Bright and Mark Winterbottom round out the top ten.