BATHURST, NEW SOUTH WALES - OCTOBER 08: Luke Youlden driver of the #9 Erebus Motorsport Penrite Racing Holden Commodore VF and David Reynolds driver of the #9 Erebus Motorsport Penrite Racing Holden Commodore VF celebrate after winning the Bathurst 1000, which is part of the Supercars Championship at Mount Panorama on October 8, 2017 in Bathurst, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

David Reynolds wins Barry Sheene Medal

David Reynolds has capped a brilliant season, winning the Supercars top award, the Barry Sheene Medal on Monday night.

Reynolds was voted Supercars best driver ahead of newly crowned and seven champion, Red Bull’s Jamie Whincup.

The 32-year-old’s year was highlighted by a shock, against the odds win at Bathurst.

Meanwhile, Scott McLaughlin took out the fans’ most popular driver.

Supercars Awards

Barry Sheen Medal: David Reynolds (Erebus)
Supercars Champion: Jamie Whincup (Red Bull)
Supercars Team Champion: DJR/Team Penske
Supercars Manufactor of the Year: Ford
Hall of Fame Inductee: Neil Crompton
Fans’ Most Popular Driver: Scott McLaughlin (DJR/Team Penske)
Fans’ Best Presented Team: DJR/Team Penske
Fans’ Best Event: Newcastle 500
Mike Kable Young Gun: Will Brown (Eggleston Motorsport)
Dunlop Series Champion: Todd Hazlewood (Bigmate Racing)
Supercars Media Award: Connor O’Brien (Gold Coast Bulletin)
Best Volunteer Group: Sandown 500