MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 20: Jolyon Palmer of Great Britain drives the (30) Renault Sport Formula One Team Renault RS16 Renault RE16 turbo on track ahead of Pascal Wehrlein of Germany drives the (94) Manor Racing MRT-Mercedes MRT05 Mercedes PU106C Hybrid turbo, Felipe Nasr of Brazil drives the (12) Sauber F1 Team Sauber C35 Ferrari 059/5 turbo, Marcus Ericsson of Sweden drives the (9) Sauber F1 Team Sauber C35 Ferrari 059/5 turbo and Valtteri Bottas of Finland drives the (77) Williams Martini Racing Williams FW38 Mercedes PU106C Hybrid turbo during the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 20, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

This time next week the city of Melbourne will come to life with the Albert Park Circuit open for business. Although the Formula One cars won’t take to the track until Friday, there will be support races, such as the Australian Supercars Championship, out on track to entertain the thousands of fans pouring into the circuit anxious to get their racing fix.

This will be the opening racer of the season for the Formula One Championship, however, the Supercar series had their first race two weeks ago at the former F1 layout in Adelaide and the thrill of the event has now brought the question back to the forefront in a lot of people’s minds, why can’t F1 return to Adelaide?

Adelaide actually hosted the Australian round of F1 from 1985 to 1995 before it moved to Melbourne, but now the Adelaide City Council is planning to make a formal request to have it returned to their streets

“There’s a certain nostalgia that the Grand Prix brings and I think everyone in the room is old enough to remember the halcyon days so I’m glad that the council will write to the State Government and at least indicate that we’d like this explored,” Alex Antic, Adelaide councilor told the Advertiser. “We’d just like to see the State Government take the steps to see if it is viable and whether a pitch could be made.”

Melbourne has a contract in place to host the race until 2023.