Mercedes' Finnish driver Valtteri Bottas drives at the Circuit de Barcelona Catalunya on March 8, 2017 in Montmelo, on the outskirts of Barcelona during the second day of the second week of tests for the Formula One Grand Prix season. / AFP PHOTO / Josep Lago (Photo credit should read JOSEP LAGO/AFP/Getty Images)


Valtteri Bottas topped the times fro the sixth day of official testing her at the Barcelona Circuit in Spain on Wednesday, the mercedes driver completing a total of 70 laps to finish just over a tenth faster than yesterday's quickest man, Williams driver Felipe Massa, who recorded 63 laps around the sunny and dry Spanish track.

Kimi Raikkonen was third overall for Ferrari, however the Finn only managed 53 laps while fourth placed man, Max Verstappen, drove his Red Bull Racing contender around the circuit a total of 102 times, the most of any driver in action on Wednesday.

McLaren's woes continued with Fernando Alonso managing just 46 laps for the day, to set the third slowest time of the session after a leak required further investigation.

“Today we were able to make further steps forward. We have been able to run through our testing programme, and there were no major issues encountered," explained Honda's Yusuke Hasegawa

“This progress has enabled us to gather the important data required to understand the functionality of our next spec of power unit, which was introduced for today’s testing.

“Of course, we still have lots of work to do, but today’s running has moved us in the right direction. The last two days of winter testing will now be essential to gather further important data, and to continue our race preparations in order to be ready for Melbourne.”

Testing continues here later today (local time)

Pos. Driver Team Time Laps
1 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:19.310 70
2 Felipe Massa Williams 1:19.420 63
3 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:20.406 53
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:20.432 102
5 Lance Stroll Williams 1:20.579 59
6 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:20.702 79
7 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:21.213 61
8 Sergio Perez Force India 1:21.297 100
9 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:21.872 92
10 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:21.887 96
11 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 1:23.000 59
12 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:23.041 46
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:23.384 47
14 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:24.774 29